Back to school

Well school started today and I took the kids to their new schools, Bethany (11) is starting at secondary school and is at that awkward age where she is grown up enough to insist that you don’t help her and that she knows best  which is frustrating when you see her struggling along in the wrong gear on her bike (legs spinning manically but no forward movement).  I think she was embarrassed that dad cycled with her to school but I was just making sure that she made it on time on her first day as she would be lost somewhere now if I hadn’t since she nearly took a couple of wrong turns on the way. (yeah whatever dad!).

Jordan and Chloe (8) are twins and up until now have been in seperate classes because their year has been split into different groups. This year they’re together but it doesn’t seem to bother them, they ignore each other at school largely and have their own peer groups. We have always treated them as individuals and rarely use the “t” word, and since thety were born they’ve always had very clear and different personalities but somehow they share a bond that is different to the way they play with others, even Bethany. I can’t explain it other than saying that they seem to know what each other wants to do without having to explain it to each other. When they play together they rarely argue but when Bethany joins in or plays with one or other of them then arguments always occur.

I worry more about Jordan and Chloe than I do about Bethany however because they aren’t interested in school and both want to become footballers when they grow up, should I be worrying about this? – I wanted to be a fireman when I was their age!

About willwoods
I'm Head of Learning and Teaching Technologies in the Institute of Educational Technology at the Open University.

2 Responses to Back to school

  1. Rebecca says:

    My daughter’s eight and she wants to be a ‘litter picker’ when she grows up. I’m hoping she may think of something else to aspire to over the next few years.

    And I’ve also got eight-year-old twins and an older daughter. And one of them’s called Bethany. But no 13-month-old.

  2. willwoods says:

    Hi Rebecca,
    I’ve just seen your comment, I’m not very good with this blogging thing yet.

    That’s a coincidence! – Nikki asked the kids about what they wanted to do when they grow up, Chloe (8) said she doesn’t want to get married or have a job she wants to get a dog and ride around on a motorcycle. Bethany wants to be a vet and Jordan wants to be a footballer. Kids eh!

Leave a Reply

