Posting from MS Word 2007

I’m testing the posting ability from Microsoft Word 2007. So far in the last ten minutes I’ve crashed Word and it restarted telling me it has retained my data but of course the blog post I’d been working on had disappeared, so it seems a bit flaky.

That aside why would I choose to use word over the WordPress editor? – I’m not sure. It’s nice in a way having the ‘usual’ office toolbars although that said the blog toolbars are a bit different. It’s not nice that it transmits your login info over the net each time you post but I’m getting used to that sort of thing. I’m also not convinced that most people used to Facebook, WordPress and other tools won’t just prefer to use them in a multi tabbed browser rather than use the one tool for all editing. I can’t see how for example I would add tags to my post. I can see how I might add it to categories which I’ve just done. In my opinion it’s a poor relative of the blog editor I’m used to.

Speaking of Web 2.0 stuff  – I’ve been in LinkedIn network for some time and recently got requested to be added to Plaxo too, there seem to be a plethora of these sites around all sharing my contact information amongst them and I’m getting used to adding myself to them every couple of weeks but not yet sure what the point of them all is. I’m still the same person as I was a few weeks ago so surely I should be able to put that somewhere and Plaxo, Facebook, Bebo, LinkedIn etc. all have a talk in the background and say ‘oh yes I remember you, you’re that chap with the weird accent who hasn’t got many friends’ or the electronic equivalent of that…am I talking about OpenID you ask? – Probably OpenID with frills. Anyhow it would be nice not to have to fill in so much stuff each time you join a new site.

 p.s. I added the tags in afterwords…

About willwoods
I'm Head of Learning and Teaching Technologies in the Institute of Educational Technology at the Open University.

2 Responses to Posting from MS Word 2007

  1. nik says:

    hey there
    i also just discovered blogging from word 2007, and i also couldn’t see a way to add tags. when you say you “added them afterwards” what do you mean? you found out a way of doing it in word? or you had to log in elsewhere and do that? if so, that kind of ruins the point of publishing the blog in word, doesn’t it? i mean, it would be handy if i didn’t have to log in to the, in my case, blogger website. but if i have to go there to add tags, then what have i really gained?
    i’d be grateful to hear back from you – please mail me!
    cheers
    nik

  2. willwoods says:

    Hi Nik,
    I mean I had to log in to WordPress and do it.

Leave a Reply

