Twittertrends

I see that Tony Hirst has added a post showing some nice graphs showing the trends showing potential growth of Twitter. What is they say about lies, damn lies and statistics? – It’s interesting to note trend data like this because things such as Secondlife get big blips in popularity and I think it’s when something new has been created within the space. Twitter shows steady growth but as Tony says the figures lie. Twitter is certainly filling a gap that existed as judging by the response to my recent post and the number of people who arguing very strongly in favour if it.

I’ve been recommended by a friend to read a book called “The Future of the Internet and How to Stop It” (Jonathan Zittrain). There’s a review of it in this months BBC Focus magazine too. According to the review he argues that the end of the internet as we know it will be because of the lack of creativity and people turning away from the web because of the lack of control and the prevenlence of malware and viruses, moving to more ‘locked down’ solutions. I haven’t read it yet but it does sound like an interesting read. I’m off to get it.

About willwoods
I'm Head of Learning and Teaching Technologies in the Institute of Educational Technology at the Open University.

4 Responses to Twittertrends

  1. ajcann says:

    The graph I’d like to see compares Twitter users to frequent IM (e.g. MSN) users. I’d bet there isn’t a lot of overlap. Twitter is filling the demographic niche for oldies!

  2. Gill says:

    I use both 🙂

    Am I a young-at-heart oldie, or an old-before-my-time youngie?

  3. willwoods says:

    Hi AJ,
    I use both but I’m rubbish at both! – I think I class as the internet equivalent of a ‘mid life crisis’.
    :^)

  4. ajcann says:

    Of course, tool and site usage reflects social class as well as age:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/6236628.stm
    Not many Daily Mail readers currently on Twitter I suspect (apart from Martin Weller 😉

Leave a Reply

