Planning blight and JFDI

I was watching the gadget show the other night with Nikki and they showed a remote controlled Hummer (£37,000 car) that they were able to race around a real dirt course. The research is done by Cranfield and Nikki turned to me and said Cranfield are always doing good stuff like that why don’t you guys do good research. I of course said that we did. She said that what we should be doing for example is making a VR suit for disabled people to interact directly with their brain a nd allow them to explore VR worlds as if they had no disabilities. (read the Otherworld books by Tad Williams for the concept). I said hmm. Yes we could do that. She also said that we should rig up a system to suspend people from so that they could act out the actions conducted in a virtual world and get the total immersion experience (again Otherworld). I said Hmm. Yes we could do that.

I spoke to Patrick about this yesterday. I’m not sure about the whole VR thing but it would be good to do some work exploring hacks we could do with the Wii mote for example, by doing some ‘mashing’ of various technologies. I’ve always been a fan of this type of string and glue approach to developing stuff. He was talking about colleagues that have built the equivalent of Microsoft Surface for under £100 by using a table, projector, tracing paper and a good bit of software. I was saying how of late there is a level of project amanagement to everything we do that makes delivery take long and be less satisfying that the agile approach that we used to adopt (i.e. a clever academci and a clever devloper working together doing seat of the pants iterative prototyping). We are doing that with Social:learn so I’m doing some direct comparison and I can see how much better that approach can be with the right people and a good set of support tools. (we use Skype, Pidgin/Jabber for IM, Twitter and a Wiki to help share development stuff). Patrick said it was time we created the JDFI. “Just F*ing Do it” group. I really think we must escape to bonds of planning blight that can occur during a restructuring process and instead JFDI. That’s my main objective this year.

About willwoods
I'm Head of Learning and Teaching Technologies in the Institute of Educational Technology at the Open University.

Leave a Reply

