Flip-ping great!

Our flips arrived last week (see my previous post on gadgets for info) and I took one home over the weekend and it’s absolutely fantastic.

I tried it out shooting some footage of Hannah indoors and the quality was great considering the lighting. It’s so simple to use I didn’t bother to read instructions (not that I do very often anyhow but it’s definitely a pick up and go device). The kids love it and can use it really well to without any kind of training. The zoom is quite small in real terms (i.e. compared to camcorders)and of course the quality is not more than standard VGA but it is more than made up for by the simplicity, easy of use and portability of the device. It runs of AA batteries (2) and so far they’ve lasted without any problems. I’ve taken several rough videos and binned some. I haven’t tried the YouTube uploading yet but I’ll be doing that this week to test that feature.

I’m going to take it away on holiday with me and test it out some more. I really really love it….and the price. We paid £78 online price for it. Peanuts for such a great little gadget. I’d rate it right up there with the iPod in terms of life changing technology.

About willwoods
I'm Head of Learning and Teaching Technologies in the Institute of Educational Technology at the Open University.

One Response to Flip-ping great!

  1. Hassan Sheikh says:

    Hi Will,

    I had a quick look at it when Mariano brought it to a colleague’s leaving do here at the Library. I like flip but there are couple of things which irritated me. One is the sound quality when recording video. If I am recording at a little distance from someone speaking, it doesn’t pick up the voice very well. And even if I raise the volume high level up, still doesn’t improve which is a shame. In that aspect, I love Nokai N95 which is great for both video/audio quality:) I am not comparing Flip with N95 as I know the price difference but I think it would be nice if Flip guys can improve the voice quality. The second thing is that when you re-play a video, there is no pause button which is rather irritating.

    Anyways, I agree that for small price, it is a nice little widget for quick and dirty video recording.

    Hassan

Leave a Reply

